The Ever-Changing Thought is..Um..Changing??

Yep.  I’m taking this site as serious as anything I have in the past.  I have kept it at wordpress.com for the first few weeks just to make sure that this was something that I could stick with.  I know, “It’s not even been a month yet Scott.”, you say.  I know.  You don’t understand.  This is something that I have taken as serious as anything I have in the past.  If this was not going to be something I was going to stick with, I don’t think I would have had a post on here after the first 3 or 4 days.  I’ve managed to keep my goal (almost) of 1 post per day, and I am really really enjoying this, even though my readership is minimal.  “If you build it, they will come”, is what I’m relying on right now.  

This site is really helping me get my voice out.  It is giving me something to do that I really enjoy (as bad as you might think reading it is), that I can see grow, and that gives me a feeling of accomplishment.  

Today I have purchased/registered tecthought.com domain and have put a 2 year “contract” on it.  (Always have an out :))  I’m not sure how long it will take me to move over, I haven’t gotten to that part of the plan yet.  I will warn you, and when I feel it’s necessary, I will update you on the progress.  

For now though, just keep coming back.  Please, give me some direction or thoughts on improvements.  You won’t hut my feelings. I promise (fingers crossed). 🙂  I could not post your comment if you would like, or maybe give you my email for you to send constructive criticism.  Eh, nah, let the world read it.

SC

6 Responses

  1. As I understand it you’ve tried wordpress.com to make sure you wanted to make a long-term commitment. The answer was yes so you have now bought your own domain. If that’s true, then I give you credit for testing the idea first.

    Who is your hosting service? Will you still be using WordPress? Please tell us more.

  2. Hey Scott – thanks for your comments over at Rebel Zen and good luck on your blogging adventures. My only word of wisdom would be not to rely on “if they build it they will come” – the truth is that rarely happens. You have to promote your blog quite relentlessly if you want to get readership up. It buggers me out to be honest but you gotta do what you gotta do.

    You never know, you might get lucky and one of those who just suddenly get really popular with minimal effort, why not?

    Because then I won’t like you anymore that’s why not … 😉

  3. @Jean – I’m not sure who will be hosting it. I debated on hosting it myself on my server here, but I’ve decided against that for obvious reasons I think. I have 2 hosts in mind at this time, GoDaddy and 1and1. But that list will most likely grow as I “shop” around.
    I am planning on using WordPress, mainly because it’s what I’m used to. Again, subject to change without notice, but I’ll notify you 😉
    Like everything else, I’m open to suggestions if you want to share.

    @Seamus – No problem. I’m really enjoying practicing meditation. I feel very in touch, and you have given me tons of information. The least I could do is comment.
    I guess I haven’t really put this goal down on paper yet, but part of the “building it” was going to be promoting it. From what I’ve researched over the last few months, it kinda has to be done, and I’m ok with that. Check back (hopefully Wednesday) and I’ll have this goal in written format on my blog.
    I’m not gonna lie, I have had visions of popularity dancing in my head. I’m not going to dwell on that though for fear of the possible failure bringing down my fun. I’m doing this as much for me, I think, as I am the next guy that reads it.
    I’ll see ya around the blogosphere, buddy…. 🙂
    Thanks to you and Jean both for being an inspiration.

  4. I just think this is hilarious. Look what was waiting for me in my reader this monring..http://up-and-coming-blogger.com/2008/10/20/hosting-services-which-one-is-right-for-your-blog/

    Scott

  5. Scott,

    I admire your “stick-to-it-ness.” Keep blogging, and the readers will come! It takes a while to build an audience, but it sounds like you have made a long-term commitment in which to do so!

    Rita

  6. @Rita – ahhh, another secret admirer. I love it! Well, I guess it’s not so much a secret anymore huh? 🙂 I’m going to keep blogging, I’m having too much fun doing this. If I don’t gain another reader, then this blog is still successful to me. Now I have to do it. Thanks ya’ll! 😉

Comments are closed.

